Watermark (from Latin filum, thread, and granum, grain) is a drawing which appears on some papers when viewed with a certain transparency. However, this term comes from the jewelry, not the paper industry.

In handcrafted, this effect is obtained during the fabrication of the sheet by a local reduction of the amount of fiber; There are two kinds of modus operandi. You should know that the watermark in the sheet is formed through the drain roller (for a flat table machine. So we work on the "fine linens, which are on the whole surface of the roll.

The watermark "line" is obtained when wires of copper are welded on the canvas. These wires make "clear" in the sheet, which is found by transparency in the paper. Commonly used for drawings without relief, or simple texts.

The second type of watermark, called "shadowed" is produced when this canvas has been "embossed". We engrave a punch into two parts, male and female, and the relief is applied to the canvas by "smashing" the fabric between the sides of the punch. This method is used when drawing the watermark is complex, when there is "black", or when the drawing has "multiple layers".

If the first watermark enabled papermakers to put a personal stamp on their production, this method is mostly used for sophisticated possibilities of ensuring the authenticity of official documents (paper money, stamps, identity cards, etc.). Since 2000, prescriptions written by doctors in France are secured by watermarks.

In 1862, the Bank of France produced the first "shadowed" watermark representing a human head. A century later, the watermarks are ever more refined to deter forgers who have significant technical resources.

 

Diferent watermarks on some Morocco's Banknote

Un filigrane (du latin filum, fil, et granum, grain) est un dessin qui apparaît sur certains papiers quand on les regarde avec une certaine transparence. Cependant, ce terme provient de l'orfèvrerie et non de l'industrie papetière.

En fabrication artisanale, cet effet est obtenu dès la formation de la feuille par une diminution locale de la quantité de fibres ; Il y a deux sortes de façon d'opérer. Il faut savoir que le filigrane dans la feuille est formé grâce au rouleau égoutteur (pour une machine table plate, (ou à la forme ronde). On travaille donc sur les « toiles fines », qui sont sur toute la surface du rouleau (ou de la forme).

Le filigrane « au trait » est obtenu lorsqu'on a soudé des fils de cuivre sur cette toile. Ces fils font des « clairs » dans la feuille, que l'on retrouve par transparence dans le papier. Utilisé généralement pour des dessins sans relief, ou des textes simples.

Le deuxième type de filigrane, appelé « ombré » est obtenu lorsqu'on a « embossé » cette toile. On grave un poinçon en deux parties, mâle et femelle, et on applique le relief à la toile en « écrasant » la toile entre les parties du poinçon. Cette méthode est utilisée lorsque le dessin du filigrane est complexe, quand il y a du « noir », ou lorsque le dessin comporte « plusieurs épaisseurs ».

Si les premiers filigranes permettaient aux papetiers d'apposer une marque personnelle sur leur production, ce procédé est surtout utilisé pour les possibilités sophistiquées de garantie de l'authenticité de documents officiels (papier-monnaie, timbres, papiers d'identité, etc). Depuis 2000, les ordonnances rédigées en France par les médecins sont sécurisées par des filigranes.

En 1862, la Banque de France produit en filigrane ombré le premier filigrane représentant une tête humaine. Un siècle plus tard, les filigranes sont sans cesse plus raffinés pour dissuader les falsificateurs qui disposent d'importants moyens techniques.

 

Des variétés de Filigrane sur quelques billets du Maroc